Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

Some people think that the most essential goal of education is to educate people on how to teach themselves, while others disagree. For me, I agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, teaching students knowledge should be considered a top priority when it comes to a successful education. Therefore, educating people on how to educate themselves helps student acquire more knowledge. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd’s parent educated him to become a self-taught programmer. He learned most programming knowledge from Indian programming-related Youtubers. Also, he procured numerous coding techniques by talking and interacting with open-source engineers on Github. Therefore, even though he was still 19 years old, he could answer 80% of questions asked on Stackoverflow. On the contrary, my brother's algorithm professor, Mr. Lieu, set up a strict schedule for his students to follow. His teacher required all students to complete no less than 20 pages of algorithm problem sets every week, but these problems are so hard that each of them may require three months of research and investigation. Eventually, my brother had problems absorbing most algorithm knowledge from Mr. Lieu’s lecture. Evidently, according to Todd and my brother’s experience, I believe self-learning helps students become more knowledgeable.

Secondly, education should be on students' health, and letting students learn skills by themselves makes them healthier. For instance, my friend Linda went through a high-pressure education in Taiwan. Her parents required her to go to English and Physics cram schools nearly every day. Not only that, her math teacher assigned more than four math worksheets per day. Therefore, she slept less than five hours every night. In addition, her constant unhappiness made her get depression and schizophrenia. In the long run, her physical and health condition was so terrible that she needed to go to the hospital for sleeping pills and schizophrenia treatments. Contrarily, my aunt allowed my cousin, Ken, to self-teach himself. Therefore, whenever Ken felt exhausted, he could simply take a short rest. Similarly, he had the choice to stop learning when he accidentally caught Bird Flu or Covid without the fear of not being able to accomplish his homework in time. Apparently, he had a healthier body and mental status compared to Linda.

In conclusion, I maintain that teaching people how to educate themselves is extremely vital because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.