In many places, students must arrive very early in the morning to attend school.

Some people believe that starting the school day early is the best approach to

support learning, but others believe that starting the school day at a later time in the

morning would be better for students. Which view do you agree with and why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I believe that starting the school day at a later time in the morning would be better for students. I will give reasons to support myclaim in the following paragraphs.

Starting the school day at a later time means giving students adequate sleep. They do not need to get up early to get ready forschool. A good night's sleep helps students to pay attention in the morning classes. They are not going to doze off because ofpoor physical readiness. Moreover, students can have time to enjoy a breakfast instead of grabbing something from the fast-foodrestaurant on the way to school. For example, when I attended primary school, I was required to arrive at school by seven in themorning. I had to get up before six, and if l did not, I would not have time for breakfast. There were times I had to go to schoolwith an empty stomach, which severely prevented me from concentrating in class.

Starting the school late also means students have time to get ready for the school day. They are able to check all thehomework from the day before and make sure they have all the textbooks or workbooks ready for the day. If they have to rush offto school, chances are that they will forget something important. Again, I am a good example of this. I cannot count how manytimes I had to call my mother to send something I left behind at home to me. Not to mention how many times I found myselfwearing mismatched-color of socks to school. If I had a couple of hours to get ready, none of these would have happened.

Another benefit of starting school late is that students can avoid the rush-hour traffic. They do not have to find themselvesscrambling for room in the subway or on the bus. If they ride their bikes to school, avoiding peak-hour traffic means better safety.In my country, not a lot of students have the luxury of being driven to school by their parents; most of them go to school on theirown. Therefore, this additional benefit means a lot to both the parents and the students.

To summarize, because starting school later provides multiple benefits, I believe it is the better choice.