Marketing strategy for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this can impact on their reputation?

In this day and age, marketing methods for selling goods or offering services have become a controversial debate among public around the world. Although offering discounts is regarded as thoroughly both destructive and negative by a considerable number of people, the others held the opposing view. I am inclined to highly believe that advertising for sale is beneficial and could develop positive characteristics in the society. This essay is going to provide a solution to the debate and discuss both sides of the argument.

There are various reasons why I believe that offering discount as a way of marketing is advantageous. First and foremost, advertisement plays a pivotal role to introduce newborn products, which is nowadays argued endlessly. This may be attributed to the fact that people have a growing tendency to buy new things or employ new services, and this surely creates a sense of accomplishment and competence, which consequently opens an avenue to new achievements. From my own experience as an educated person, contributing to the marketing, as a seller or buyer, brought about a significant development in countries economy. Therefore, the profitable influences of foregoing matters are undeniable.

However, there is no doubt that wrong and weak policies to ban huge firms from manipulating can lead to negative consequences, and it can devitalize society with countless variables, which inevitably leads to an untrustworthy sense among people. For instance, a study conducted by Harvard University researchers in 2010 about marketing has revealed that inflation is inversely correlated with manipulated societies. Hence, the drawbacks are obvious, and they can potentially impose irreparable impacts on a country.

To conclude, weighing all arguments up against each other, I would strongly agree with the positive side and valid points of the new methods for selling. Although most advertisements have their adverse effects on people consumerism habits, it can inform us through an acceptable information that is regarded as a prominent feature of globalization.