Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Concept of marriage was introduced in ancient age for development of next generation. When the concept of civilization was introduced at that time people started to follow the marriage concept. Many ancient cave wall painting showed that marriage is one of the oldest ritual followed by human beings. In this two people decide to live together and take care of each other and their offspring. Methods of getting married changes as cast and religion as well as region changes. Some tribes marry in front of fire or sea while other may choose to do it in front of god.

In ancient age two people decided to stay together and they live together. There was no specific ritual. As time passed community system was developed. The grant of community became necessary for living together. Parents call their relatives and friends to marriages asking them to give blessings for newly weds. Now a days in many countries a girl and boy cannot live together without prior permission. This permission is called as marriage.

As we move on in time people thought that as many as people we call on ceremony will increase on prestige in community. They felt that if people are thinking and talking about how we spent money on marriage will increase our position. Someone said that marriages are fixed in heaven and there is no need to spend extra money on such ceremonies. Arranging money for such things is not everyone's cup of tea so few tend to take loan to celebrate marriages which is making them financially weaker. Indian businessman Mr Mukesh Ambani spent crores and millions in daughters marriage. For rich people this much expenses are bearable. When it comes to small and poor families they barely manage their daily expenses, marriages are making them poorer.

The change is marriage system is giving negative impact on society. There is no need to do so. To prevent this government has given option of register marriage.