Modern agriculture does damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment.

There has been a heated controversy about the effects of human’s recent activity on damaging the environment to provide food for the growing population around the world. A plethora of people have inclined to the idea that damaging the environment for the sake of providing food for population growth is not a good method, while others believe that new population of people need more food to survive and the only way to do so, is damaging the environment. I, myself, subscribe to the former group for quite a few reasons. Two of substantial ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

One of the reasons come to my mind at first has to do with the fact that modern agriculture had damaged habitats of many species in forests to grow certain plants or crops to provide food for the growing population. Replacing trees in forests with other plants has caused certain unique species to become extinct. As a result, human has completely manipulated the ecosystem in which due to the loss of some animals, food chains of most animals have been jeopardized to some extent which rely on other extinct animals to survive. The media is full of news on birds and Chitase that have been found dead in forests due to lack of food.

Another equally remarkable point in corroborating my stance for which I have to elaborate is that in this world many countries confront the air pollution crisis which they annually allocate a great deal of money to resolve the global warming problem. Since the urbanization period and population growth, many factories as well as food industries are increasing and flourishing which release toxic chemicals both to the air and waters and contaminate them. Consequently, nowadays new plagues namely cancers and tumors have been introduced to societies in which even state-of-the-art hospitals and skilled doctors are not able to provide people with proper treatments and as a result mortality has been dramatically increased in the last decade.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one realize that damaging the environment for providing food to growing population has caused detrimental effects on health of growing population by adding new maladies to communities. Also, it has destroyed natural forests and shelters of many species that rely on trees.