All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study.

Since the dawn of humanity, education has played a significant role in people’s life. No one can turn a blind eye on the enormous effect that education has on providing people convenient, delightful and exciting life. There is a heated controversy as to whether all university students should take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study or it should be compulsory. Some people believe that taking course in basic science courses should be mandatory for students while others believe otherwise. I, myself, subscribe to the latter group for quite a few reasons. Two of substantial ones of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

One of the reasons come to my mind at first has to do with the fact that the world confronts the economic crisis, unemployment, which makes it hard for graduated students to find decent jobs in their field of study. Taking additional basic science courses waste students’ time which should be dedicated to master in their fields of interest. Students should take courses in fields such as computer engineering, mechanical engineering, to name but two that lead to well-paid jobs in the future and gain experience and knowledge about the skills that employees are looking for in hiring a candidate for a specific profession.

Another equally remarkable point of my stance for which I have to elaborate is that taking additional courses can even add up more stress to students. Indeed, students in universities conduct many researches, taking required courses, writing essays, to name but a few which is really hard for them to be overwhelmed by assignments of basic sciences. by taking additional courses students get frustrated and they will not have any time to alleviate their anxiety nor the time to engage in other activities such as sports, video games, hanging out with friends and so forth, as a result they will either leave universities or undergo mental disorders.

In summary, with all this taken into consideration, I believe that universities should focus on sciences that lead to satisfactory jobs and avoid putting pressures on students to take courses which are not only a waste of time but also has detrimental impact on students mental health