Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: All university students should take basic science courses regardless of their fields of study.

As people have begun regard tertiary-level education as a crucial part of individual career life, the arrangement and planning of curriculum for college students should rise to a hot topic. Contrary to those who contend that it is redundant to learn basic science in students’ field study; I am pro the opinion that basic science should be considered to be a fundamental knowledge of every field of study.

To begin with, there is a strong connection between basic sciences and other fields of study. The importance of elementary sciences in all majors derives from the fact that all fields of study are dependent on these principles. In other words, basic sciences lay the foundation to the better understanding of other specific sciences and fields of study. Consequently, basic sciences along with other courses is a necessary means of solid training. A prime example from my own experience could shed some light on this point, I am a sociologist who is studying the related impact factors of the increasing unemployment rate by conducting the questionnaire survey. In order to quantitatively analyze the data, applying a huge amount of mathematics and statistics is an imperative process. If I had no such math foundation, I may not proceed these tasks smoothly.

Granted, some people would argue that learning basic sciences is meaningless for their professional lives because it is of no relevance to their specialties. However, in spite of its immateriality in our vocation, basic sciences still play an essential role on our daily lives. Awareness of basic science enables us to realize how to tackle the problems in our lives and make an effort to resolve them. In view of this association, the deficiencies of basic science knowledge might have detrimental effects on life satisfaction. As a result, considering basic science courses in the university schedule for all students seems to have a favorable influence on their daily life. In terms of household cleaning, for instance, without buying bathtub cleanser, we can utilize some vinegar and baking soda to remove hard water stains in the tub effectively. On the other hand, we also can benefit from mathematics to reduce financial risk with accurate calculations of our banks’ investments.

In summary, with the aforementioned analysis above, not only would basic science have beneficial impacts on the realization of other sciences, but they may also be considered as a key factor in fulfillment of life and cope with hardships. Hence, the importance of basic science courses cannot be underestimated in the university curriculum.