Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Without a shadow of a doubt, students benefit a lot from doing group projects in school and university. While some people believe that all members of the group should receive the same grade, others, however, stand on the other side of the continuum, asserting that this method is not a rational way to evaluate students' work. As for my opinion, I subscribe to the latter idea. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint.

First and foremost, this method is not fair whatsoever. Not every member of the group does the same amount of work, therefore, they should not receive the same grade, and every individual should be evaluated separately based on their part in the group project. There are often times that one member of the group doesn't do his work, and this would damage the grade of other members if everyone receives the same grade. As a result of this, students will eventually lose their enthusiasm since they don't get the grade they have worked for. On the other hand, if students know that no matter what their teammate does, they will be evaluated based on their job and how well they did their part, they will approach their work in a deeply meaningful way with diligence. They will take responsibility and try to work with discipline. A personal example can drive this notion home. When I was in high school, our teacher divided us into groups to do a physics project. My partner and I split our work, and promised each of us will do our part until the end of the semester. The end of the semester arrived, and he hadn't done anything. We got the lowest grade in the class just because my teammate didn't do his job. After that project, I lost my interest in working with other people. This example clearly illustrates the negative impacts of giving all members the same grade.

Furthermore, another equally compelling reason for advocating my stance lies in the fact that if students receive the same grade, there will be a plethora of controversy in the group. This will disturb the convivial atmosphere of the group. We should bear in mind that the main purpose of cooperative activities is for the students to get a chance to enlarge their social circle and enhance their teamwork skills. These can be obtained in a friendly and pleasantly cheerful environment. Therefore, it's necessary that each person be evaluated separately.

To put it all in a nutshell, having all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I strongly believe that every member of the group should be evaluated separately, on the ground that this motivates students to work voraciously on their project, also this will reduce the conflict among members of the group.