Older vs. new friends

We need to communicate with people, specifically with our friends; therefore, staying with your older friends vs. making new friends is one the highly controversial issues among many of us. As far as I am concerned in a state of ambivalence I might learn toward to be with my older friends. Ostensibly, some people may believe that we should find new friends, because we will obtain new experiences talking to them and improve our social appearance, however, I can declare the higher beneficiary of keeping our older friends which I will interpret in the following essay.

First, we need strong relationships to enjoy our life. In fact, when one makes new friend, the knowledge regarding that person lacks in many aspects; things such as the behaviour, family relationships, favourites, etc. would not be learned in short time. Granted all of this little information contributes to the strength of a relation, but short relation cannot provide them. As an illustrative example, when I was in high school, one of my old friends was allergic to mango. My friend’s new friend held a party for her birthday, serving a mango cake, not knowing about the possible allergic reaction. Unfortunately, my friend ended-up at the hospital, and it was her worst birthday, ever. Definitely, my friend was not angry, given the explanation, but they never forget the incident. Therefore, to make strong relations, one needs lots of information about the friends, and information’s obtainment associate to the period of time.

Second, with a longer time to spend with a person, you share more memories. One cannot start talking about the shared childhood memories upon seeing a new person. Most of the time we talk about our memories with our friends; without such kind of memories, it would be hard to find a topic to make more memories. For example, some years ago, my sister invited her friend home to spend a night with her. That night they slept sooner than us, as they had nothing to talk about. So, to improve the relationship with someone one need to share memories and therefore spend lots of time with that person.

Third, older friends tend to be more reliable. When we have problems, we prefer to consult with somebody who we know for a long time. This happens because we can rely on their honesty and help. For instance, when I have some academic problem and I need someone to consult with, the first person I am thinking of is my oldest friend. Therefore, we need reliable friends, and most of the times they are our oldest friends.

Consequently, I am of the conviction that the older friend is better. This is because we make strong bonds, have lots of shared memories and rely on them the most, but it would not harm to make new friends. So, I mainly suggest keeping our old friends, while making new friends from time to time. The effect of my solution would be that we have the benefits of our older companions while gaining new experience, but if not possible, for the aforementioned reasons, I conclude that longer relationships will be a better choice.