One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them take a part time job

Teenage is a crucial time to build one's future. It is the time where a person should focus on career building, develop a strong personality, and spend time with family to learn the social value and so on. If a person spends all those time running after money that will not help him/her a lot in the future. So, I think parents should help their teenage children to prepare for their adult life instead of encouraging them to earn money for several reasons.

First of all, it is time for teenage children to focus on their study. If a child does not study enough and earn sufficient score that will hamper their further higher study. For instance, when I was a kid, my parents always encouraged me to study hard to fulfill my dream. From my early stage of education, I was good at mathematics and other science subjects. So, from my childhood, I dreamed about becoming an engineer. For this reason, I worked hard and got admitted to an engineering university. Without my parents encourage it would not be possible.

Secondly, parents should encourage to build a strong personality and value. Parents should teach their children that respect and recognition are more valuable than money. For example, my mother is a school teacher. Though she does not earn a lot, she is respected by her work. She taught me that earning money is easy but gaining respect and trust form others is hard to get. When I got government scholarship at the primary level, everybody appreciated my talent and I learn that respect is more important than money.

Finally, A part-time job would create distance from his family as they have to work and study simultaneously and it is really hard for children. For instance, one of my cousins worked as a delivery boy in a local newspaper. As he has to work, often time he was tired. For this reason, he failed to get a good result in the examination. Eventually, he failed to get admitted in a renown university.

In conclusion, working on a part-time job may have helped a student to get some money but it would not help to build his career and personality. So, parents should encourage their teenage children for preparation for their adult life in a good manner.