At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

- asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

Or

- increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating.

- asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat.

The ultimate goal of education is leading people to a better life, where everyone adheres to the society’s principles. The educational system not only teaches fundamental values in the school’s curriculum but also encourages students to refrain from exhibiting unacceptable behaviors. A moral scruple that students frequently lack is the honesty to refrain from cheating on assignments, but there are effective ways to stop the students’ use of plagiarism. In my opinion, the most appropriate way to prevent students from cheating is to punish the offender by giving a severe penalty for unacceptable behavior. By using this strategy, students will learn responsibility in school at present and later in the future. Also, they will be motivated to complete their own assignments and study more diligently.

To begin with, reprimanding a student teaches him that he is solely responsible for breaking the rules. When a student realizes that he is being punished because he has not tried like other students, he will accept that the only way to vindicate himself is through serious study and application of his knowledge. For example, during my last exam, I worked on a tight schedule because a number of assignments were still to be completed. When I observed students copying from each other, I also used a high-scoring assignment belonging to my classmate. When my teacher asked me about the method I used in solving the problem, I could not advocate the idea because it was not mine. If I had tried on my own, I could have supported my assignment. I got a low score on that exam, but I learned an excellent lesson: I can only take responsibility for my own work, not others. After receiving negative feedback from the teacher, a student is more likely to chastise himself for not be accountable.

In addition, receiving punishment for plagiarism in the school brings more positive results for students in the future because the consequences will be a reminder for them to remain honest. When people live independently without supervision, they exhibit no fear of consequences associated with stealing ideas. For example, one of my high school classmates was disinterested in studying and always cheated on his homework despite close supervision from teachers and parents; consequently, he graduated but could never break the habit of cheating. He never learned that honesty was his duty. He always thought that in his life there would not be any reproach for his dishonest behavior. He continued to practice immoral and unprofessional acts, and his immorality eventually led to an arrest and prison time. The only way to teach students to show later responsibility as adults is by reprimanding them as children for participation in dishonesty.

Finally, a student must know without question that the result of cheating will be a lowered grade or a penalty. Perhaps, then he would study more seriously, as opposed to taking the easy way out by simply stealing ideas from other students. Students must learn that earning a better score is related to trying hard. As is the case in many universities, students trying to copy from others’ assignments soon saw the error of their ways. They realized that the teacher, aware of their deception, reduced their scores. After that, they learned to complete the assignments independently. A student who has been punished for his plagiarism should make efforts to study harder, instead of feeling guilty about fraudulent scores received on copied material. When a student makes a low score, he has probably learned nothing. Encouraging students to solve their own problems and to accept responsibility is the positive results of punishment for stealing ideas.

In a nutshell, while some people and schools consider distinct ways to prevent students from cheating, punishing students would be the most effective way to make young scholars aware of their behaviors and teach them how to prepare for life in an adult society. This way also motivates students to try more diligently to get a score that showcases their own honest originality. Paraphrasing a wise saying reminds us to train a child in the way he should grow and when he is grown, he will not depart from it.