At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following actions do you think will be most effective and why?

- asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their children have not cheated.

Or

- increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating.

- asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for students to cheat.

The ultimate goal of education is leading people to a better life in which everyone adheres to the society’s principles. Not only the educational system teaches fundamental values through different grades of school but also looks for effective ways to refrain students from doing unacceptable behavior that is frowned upon. One of these moral scruples that a student must avoid is plagiarizing and cheating in doing their assignments. There are different ways to put halt to lifting others idea by students. In my opinion, the most appropriate way to prevent students from cheating is punishing them and giving them a penalty for their immoral behavior. By using this strategy, not only students learn responsibility in their school and future lives, but also they will be motivated to do their own assignment and study more.

To begin with, reprimanding a student teaches his that he is the only one who is responsible for breaking the rules. When a student knows that he is punished because he has not tried like other students, he accepts that the only way to advocate himself is using his knowledge and effort. For example, during my last exam, I had a tight schedule and I had many assignments to do. When I saw many students using each other’s ideas I used one of the classmates high score assignment. Eventually, when my teacher asked me about the method I used in solving the problem I could not advocate the idea because it was not mine. If I had tried before I could have supported my assignment. I got a low score on that exam, but I learned an excellent lesson: I can only take responsibility for my own work, not others. A student might chastise himself for not be accountable after receiving negative feedback from his teacher.

In addition, Learning responsibility by receiving punishment in the school will brings better results for students in the future when they will be more reproached if they do plagiarize and mimicking others’ ideas. Consequences of stealing other’s idea without punishment are more evident when people are independent and living without other’s supervision. For example, one of my classmates in high school was not interested in studying and always was cheating in doing his homework despite being supervised by teachers and parents; consequently, he graduated but got used to using others’ ideas. He never learned that it is his duty and should be refrained of copying assignments. In his life, he always thought that there would not be any reproaching for his behavior. Thus he did much immoral and unprofessional behavior. Eventually, he was arrested and now he is in prison. The only way to teach people how to be responsible for their whole lives is to giving feedback be reprimanding them during their adult age or schools.

Finally, if a student knows that his scores would be affected or he will be penalized if he cheats, he tries diligently to learn in lieu of copying stealing other students’ ideas. Earning better score is related to trying hard and they must learn that. As a case, in university, many of students were trying to copy from other assignments but when they realize that teacher knows and reduced their scores, they tried to do the homework independently and individually. A student who has punished for his plagiarizing would make better efforts to study hard instead of being worried about his scores after submitting copied material. He will learn that not only his score will be low, he learned nothing. Encouraging student to solve their problem and explain themselves is the result of punishing when they lift others ideas.

In a nutshell, while some people and schools consider distinct ways to prevent students from cheating, punishing students would be the most effective way to make students aware of their behavior and teach them how to prepare for their society. This way also motivates students to try more difficult to get a score that shows only their work not other’s ideas.