A or DA: Governments should focus its budgets more on environmental protection than on economic development.

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times” said by Charles Dickens in the beginning of ‘A tale of two cities’. Admittedly, the last few decades have witnessed the great achievement of humankind in booming economy and flourishing civilization. While at the same time, environment problems arise and turn out to be much more serious than before. Therefore, the discussion on government expenditure has come to a vogue. Should governments focus its budgets more on environmental protection or economic development? As far as I am concerned, I commit to the notion that environmental protection, though useless at first glance, should be more emphasized and therefore give more budgets by the governments.

Admittedly, no one would deny that is of vital importance. With the help of economic development, the quantity and diversity of opportunities provided for workers are largely increased. And the spread spectrums of choices not only contribute to the development of citizen’s living standard but also benefit to the stability of the whole society. Considering the unemployment crisis is troubling not only developing countries but also developed countries, we therefore cannot overlook the significance of economy. In such case, governments are supposed to construct manufacture factories, promote the education of workers and inspire innovation and further researches, all of which need investment and a considerable amount of budgets.

However, environmental protection is much more urgent and serious. The first and foremost reason is that environment is closely linked to human health. Environment equips humankind the fundamental resources that are indispensable for our life. What’s more, a clean and beautiful environment concerns the health of everybody. Atmosphere full of dust and toxic gas will lead to the respiration diseases, food suffered from excess pesticide will be detrimental to people’s organism. This point is best illustrated with the example of Beijing. Due to the accumulation of exhausts and pollutants emitted by the cars and factories over time, a huge layer of dust has surrounded the city and contaminated the air. Because of this, pedestrians on the streets are always wearing breathing masks. In this case, compare with the tiny economical achievement that we have gained, environmental problems have more profound and grievous effects, and are in need of more budgets and attention.

Moreover, there lies a more in-depth reason: environmental development is the basis of economic development and they two cannot tell apart. Most mass production relies on the natural resources like coal, wood and so on. Once the environment is ruined and cannot provide enough resources, our economy will come to an end. On the other hand, a livable environment always gives rise to the development of tourism and culture influence of one country. To quote Beecher, ‘ what came to us as seed may go to the next generation as blossom, and what came to us as blossom may go to the them as fruit.’ This means when governments make decisions, they should take environmental protection into account in top priority for the long-term prosperity of humankind.

In a nutshell, governments should focus its budgets more on environmental protection instead of economic development, for environment is not only the basis of economy but also related to the human’s health and their future