In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better: 1. attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus and before classes begin 2. meeting regularly in your first year with students in your major field who have entered the university for several years.

Conforming to life in a university is difficult task for many students, but they cope with this problem by various means. In fact, learners’ way of handling the issue may heavily influence their academic success in the future. Personally, I believe that arranging frequent meeting with my juniors and seniors is beneficial for me. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, freshmen can be open to other students, which means that they can ask personal questions and discuss particular problems. Pupils face different types of issue in post-secondary institutions, especially when they enroll classes at the first year. However, many individuals including me might be too intimidated to find answers of some questions from employees of universities. For instance, last year, I wanted to know personalities of some professors of my university. Unfortunately, I could not find answer of this questions from employees or other instructors of my university because I thought they may consider that I am discouraged to face strict professors. However, I could find the answer from my sophomore friend because I was not shy to discuss with her. As a result, I could find true information from the girl who was majoring in the same field, and solved my trouble. This example demonstrates the value of asking any questions from other learners by talking with them.

Secondly, being able to meet with others regularly can be advantageous for me because I may confront problems anytime but not only during the first week or so. Attending specific classes for only a week is not enough time to find sufficient information. On the other hand, if people are able to meet with other students, they can seek help whenever it is needed. For example, many freshmen start being panicked before semesters finish because they should take final exams and accomplish huge assignment load to receive satisfactory grades. They cannot get any help from knowledge they gained in the beginning of the semester from particular courses because they will probably face unfamiliar problems that were not mentioned in the course they took. Nevertheless, pupils can ask questions from other learners whenever they want. Consequently, available knowledge will not be limited to only curriculum of the first week.

In summation, I am of the opinion that freshmen of educational organizations should arrange frequent meeting with their seniors and juniors rather than taking any additional classes. This is because they can ask any questions from other undergraduates who are open to them, and learners are able to get help from others throughout the semester but during not only the first week.