Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Understanding the past is beneficial for individuals because they can learn important things from the history. However, studying history at universities due to the ordinance is a different story. Personally, I believe that educational organizations should not force learners to attend history classes. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, individuals can read events in the past from other sources, which means enrolling history courses at post-secondary institutions may be ineffective for pupils. Many youngsters have access to various books and information about episodes in the past. Therefore, they have basic knowledge about history. Unfortunately, undergraduates will only attend introductory courses in which professors talk about fundamental ideas about history, so students will only read and hearken to what they already know. As a result, they will end up ruining their tuition fees to peruse the information with which they are familiar. For example, I have been reading books about Genghis Khan since I was young, so I absorbed satisfactory knowledge about the history of Mongolia, my native country. Unluckily, when I attend lectures about the history of the Mongols empire, I only wasted fees of the course because I was already familiar with this information of the curriculum. This example demonstrates how introductory courses of history might be nonsense for individuals knowing about basic concepts.

Secondly, pupils will not immerse themselves to study courses that are unrelated to their major study, so they will forget their lesson before long. Most students tend to work hard when they know that concepts from academic disciplines if they know that data from these fields of study will help them in the future. Furthermore, they struggle to prevent forgetting this valuable knowledge so that they can use it later on. On the other hand, they will simply forget ideas mentioned in the history course if they know that this information is not associated with the branch they study. For instance, last semester, my companion who is going to become a programmer attended a history course due to the rule of his university. However, he said that he recalls nothing from lectures of this class because he thought that this information is useless.

In summation, I am of the opinion that universities do not have to require undergraduate students to enroll in history courses. This is because students are unlikely to learn something new, and they are liable to forget these things soon.