TPO 5

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

I am of the opinion that individuals are devoting their time on unnecessary things to gratify their needs. I feel this way for several main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, today's world is developing rapidly, which makes people's life condition more conducive. Since individuals are using suitable things such as car and smartphone and living in comfortable accommodation. Therefore, they can save time by using these new things, which provides additional time that can be spent on enjoyable things. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Before I buy smartphone and laptop, going to library and reading books was significant matter to get informed. On the other hand, I am able to search anything from the internet thanks to those devices, which gives me extra time. For this reason, I can spend time on the things I like such as communicating and hanging out with my friends.

Secondly, there are sufficient amount of place at which civilians can fulfill their own need such as movie theater, coffee shop and gaming places thanks to the commercialization. Thanks to those new things which will satisfy individuals' need, they can take advantage on convenient environments to do satisfactory matters. For instance, few years ago, there was not enough locations where multitude stop by during their leisure. Thereby, they were tend to stay in their work or school even if they have free time. On the other hand, there are many things public are capable of doing nowadays. For this reason, quantity of duration they spend on pleasurable things have increased vastly.

Finally, individual's attitude is being changed in light of aspect of predominant body of civilians. Even though some people wants to perform necessary things, their friends or family heavily influence their choice because they want to be together. For example, my friends always ask me to go out whenever I study the subjects related to my lesson, thus time I devote for important things have declined in quantity.