In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better:

attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes.

Meeting regularly at your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I would prefer to keep in touch with a senior during my first year to adapt myself to university life. I believe that the short orientation programs, which take place at the beginnning of the semester, only serve the purpose of making aquaintances with fellow students and getting to know the place. Adapting to university life is a much slower process and takes more time and conscious effort.

The first important step of settling into university is to make friends. Making friends with a like minded senior gives us immediate access to his larger friend circle where we are likely to make more friends. On the contrary, in the events at orientation program we meet lots of fellow students who may not have much in common with us. For example, in one of the orientation lunches I had a long, interesting conversation with the person sitting in front of me, only to realise later that he was living quite far away from me and attended classes at a different campus. This made it hard for us to be in touch after the orientation week.

Senior students have already experienced things which we are likely to experience in the near future. In my undergraduate days, I spent more time with my seniors than with my classmates and in hindsight that helped me a lot to be aware and prepare well in time for the things that I was going to face. Being more knowledgable in the same field of study, they can also be a mentor to us in the academic aspects of our program. I benefitted a lot from my academic interactions with my seniors and I learned more from them that I learned by going to lectures. I feel that academic interaction with seniors is an integral aspect of the study program and somthing too important to miss out on.

Settling into university life can be quite challenging. Among other things, it involves adapting to a more independent lifestyle while maintaining academic focus. Having a close friend who is senior student in this phase gives us much needed social, emotional and academic support.