In order to adapt to the life in university and succeed, if you are a freshman, which method do you think is better:

attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when you are in the university campus, and it will begin before you have the classes.

Meeting regularly at your first year with a student in your major field who has entered the university for several years.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Adminstratives are some thing which I am dealing with it these days in the university. As I joined a program with mobilty criteria, I should take enogh care of my graduation from first place and problems related to migration to the second country such as applying for visa and etc. In my opinion, meeting regularly with a student who entered the university for several years or particularly participated this program last year, would help me a lot. I explore my reasons in the following.

First and foremost, I think sometimes you never had it in mind before. I mean you can not antecepiate it from before that you will have this problem. For instance during the procedure of moving to the second country, I realized that I need the proof of my proficiency in English and I could not understand that it is something related to my visa or a requirement for university admission. if there exist some student who passed this way once and I could have ask this details for clarifying in my mind and choose , it was helpful.

Secondly, I think orientation or introduction programs are good, but only for introducing and giving general information about the campus and people and nothing more. In real academic life, any person faces with something which is defined in only his or her case.

In addition, negotiating with a person who was in university for several years, since probably you and he or she don’t differ in the terms of ages so much, sometimes helps you to find new friends and join social activities. I remember one of my best friend in my bachelor, was Sara that requested for part-time job in campus to help new students.

All in all and, for the reasons mentioned above and many others which were not mentioned, I prefer meeting regularly at your first year with a student in my major field who has entered the university for several years to attending a one-week orientation or introduction program when I am in the university campus