parent are the best teachers

Some people think that parents are the best teachers to their children. People think that parents are the most closet person to their children, thus they better understand them and teach them. Although I understand their point of view, I believe that parents are not the best teachers. Parents create a close emotional ties to their children, parent expect their children interest to be the same as them, parent try to pass values to their children but values differ from generation to generation.

First, parent may be too close to their children. Parents create close emotional ties to their children. For example, a school may organize an educational trip, but parent may limit their child from going to the trip in the name of safety. Moreover, the school may want to take the children to camping, but the parent may prohibit their child to attend, because they are afraid from getting hurt.

Second, some parents expect their children interest to be the same as their interest. For example, if the parents love science they expect their children to love science too, but what happen if the child love art. In addition, if the parents like to play sports they expect their child to participate in the other team, but what if the children like to read?

Third, parents try to pass on values to their children. Children world today is completely different from their parent world in the past. For example, older parent can not keep with the rapid social and technological changes. Student who has friends in school from different races may find that his parents have narrow point of view. A student who love computer may find his parents did not understand the value of the digital revolution.

In conclusion, parents are important teachers in our lives, but they are not always the best teachers. Fortunately, we have many teachers in our lives. Our parents teach us, our teachers teach us, and we learn from our peers. Books and newspapers also teach us. All of them are valuable.