In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

In my opinion, it had crucially been easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a prosperous lifestyle in the past. I think this way for several reasons, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraphs.

First of all, a handful of people or families had wealthy and affluent life in the past, which it was mainly around typical jobs or fields of careers. That could cause the identification of a prosperous future much more straightforward. As a historical example, around world war I in the united kingdom in most rural areas, a family was the landlord of most regions. People usually worked for that family in their agricultural fields. In addition, being closer to those families could be more beneficial and led to a secure future. For this reason, it was obvious that working in correlation with wealthy people would bring success.

Secondly, nowadays, creativity has provided different paths to become prosperous. As an illustration, the development of technology and digitalization has created abundant approaches for a lavish lifestyle that makes it challenging to pick and grow in a field. For example, many startups have been advanced that broke the restricted categories of the past, which brings creativity a key role for progress. However, it is a hinder for many people to achieve.

In another way, education was limited in the past, which led to certain fields and majors to follow. Nevertheless, different majors and various branches are prepared for different mindsets to be developed in current society. That is why it can be harder for students to decide which path they want to follow in their lives. These decisions can cause frustration.

In conclusion, I believe fewer majors, jobs, and less creativity in the past could cause identifying a secure and fruitful future much more effortless. However, less opportunity means it was much more challenging to be successful in the past, and you had to work a lot harder to gain a secure future than it is today.