In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Parents have played a tremendous role in making decisions for their children in the past. However, thanks to the advancements in communication technologies, young people are now capable of judging issues and arriving to the right choices. Therefore, I agree with the statement that juveniles today have the necessary skills to come to conclusions and make decisions that could change the course of their lives. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, parents have more connections than their kids. As we grow older, we come to know more people and make new friends. This, in turn, strengthen our abilities for judgement on different topics. Thus, it's safe to say that parents in the past had access to more information than their young through their wide range of acquaintances and also due to exposure to similar situations in their lives. this information and knowledge would come in handy whenever their children are about to face a turning point that could affect their future. My own experience is a compelling example on that. After graduating from high school, I was about to move to a different city to attend college. Unfortunately, I did not have any friends who could help me find good housing in this city since the dorms on campus had a bad reputation for having tiny rooms and limited meal options. When I talked to my father, he was able to give me a contact for his business partner who had an acquaintance in the city. Thanks to my dad, I reached out to his friend who advised me to apply for a students' housing that he knew about. I was finally approved for these student apartments, which were far more convenient than the dorms. Hence, in the past before the internet revolution, most young people needed their parents' networking and expertise to make critical decisions.

Secondly, The internet has replaced parents' advice in the modern era. Most young people nowadays are tech-savvy. When an issue arises in their life, they start researching all the sides and perspectives online to establish a road map. Social platforms allowed people to share valuable information about everything to the degree that you could make critical decisions about your life almost entirely and solely based on other people's experiences posted on the web. For instance, If I had to relive the previous example in the internet age, I would have found the internet even more beneficial than my parents' intervention. Thousands of websites with millions of reviews about real estate could have provided me with enough background to decide on which would have been the right place to live in. Consequently, young people are now empowered with new technologies to reach decisions on their own.

In summation, new communication tools have made the role of parents in their children's decision-making process less significant than it was in the past. The lack of access to sufficient knowledge sources made kids in the past more dependent on their caregivers. Nevertheless, the internet is offering an opportunity to build a more and more decentralized culture with information available to everyone.