People are easier to get educated today than in the past

Education plays an essential role in the development of human societies. While some think that people are easier to get educated today, some might think the opposite. As for me, I firmly believe that people are much easier to get educated nowadays than in the past. The reason goes follows.

As a start, people are easier to get education materials nowadays since there is an increasing amount of online open courses for free access nowadays. For example, recently, many prestige universities upload and open their classes and lectures to the Internet, such as MIT OpenCourseWare, Coursera, etc. People can utilize free materials and study anytime. In other words, they are not required to enroll in school to receive an education. On the other hand, in the old days, there is only one way to get educated: attend class in person. So, it is easier to get educated today.

Secondly, almost everyone can receive fundamental education offered by governments in modern times. Compared to the past, Many countries are giving compulsory education nowadays. For example, the Taiwanese government provides citizens with a 16-year mandatory education. People are required to study 16 years from elementary schools, junior high schools, and senior high schools. One can receive 16-year learning whatever the financial condition he or she has. Hence, compulsory education makes it easier to get educated.

Last but not least, public transportation today is much more convenient than before, which helps people go to schools and receive education easier. For example, for most schools, they are located in cities. In the old days, there is little public transportation, so people have no choice but to go to schools by walk or by bicycle. However, with the growth of public transit, people nowadays can take subways, railways, or public buses to get to school. Consequently, it is easier to go to school and, therefore, receiving an education is easier.

Based on the above reasons, I solidly believe that to get educated, it is easier today than in the old times.