Which is more important for a school? To buy new equipment or hire famous teachers.

Although purchasing new equipment may enable students to use more advanced equipment, hiring famous teachers can undoubtedly provide more benefits. In my opinion, I strongly believe that by hiring outstanding teachers, a school can gain reputation, improve students’ scores, and reduce expenses. The reasons go as follows.

Schools care about reputation, and hiring famous teachers can enhance a school’s reputation. For example, prestige schools are always eager to score top rank in QS ranking. Take my university, NCTU, for instance. Our university longs for a higher position in QS, and so the president of NCTU always ask renowned scholars if they are interested in becoming a professor at NCTU. Since our president hires many new and famous teachers, the rank increases by about 20. If a school had instead chosen to buy new equipment, the position might not be affected at all. Consequently, hiring famous teacher benefits more.

Schools focus on improving students’ academic performance, and hiring famous teachers can help students get better grades. For instance, my friend, Edward, acquired the best paper award in a Computer Vision conference recently. He said that the achievement should credit to the new professor who advised him. The newly-hired professor has a rather deep understanding of that field, which helps Edward figure out the correct topic to study and accumulate good results with ease. If a school had decided to buy new equipment, Edward might even don’t know how to use this new equipment! Hence, hiring prestige teachers is more crucial.

Schools place emphasis on budget, and hiring famous teachers is less expensive than buying new equipment. Schools often make a living by the donation from alumni so that the budget control is significant. New equipment costs a lot. For example, a robot arm for research purposes costs about two million NTD, while the monthly salary for a professor is roughly ten thousand NTD per month. In other words, buying one robot arm is equivalent to hiring ten new famous professors. Therefore, Hiring renowned scholars is indeed a better budget-saving choice.

Based on the above reasons, I firmly reckon that hiring famous teachers is more important. After all, schools care about reputation, students’ grades, and budget.