People attend college or university for many different reasons (for
example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge).
Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific
reasons and examples to support your answer.
People attend college for a lot of different reasons. I believe that the three most
common reasons are to prepare for a caree1; to have new experiences, and to increase
their knowledge of themselves and of the world around them.
Career preparation is probably the primary reason that people attend college. These
days, the job market is very competitive. Careers such as information technology will
need many new workers in the near future. At college, students can learn new skills for
these careers and increase their opportunities for the future .
Students also go to college to have new experiences. For many, it is their first time
away from home. At college, they can meet new people from many different places.
They can see what life is like in a different city. They can learn to live on their own and
take care of themselves without having their family always nearby
At college, students have the opportunity to increase their knowledge. As they
decide what they want to study, pursue their studies, and interact with their classmates,
they learn a lot about themselves. They also, of course, have the opportunity to learn
about many subjects in their classes. In addition to the skills and knowledge related to
their career, college students also have the chance to take classes in other areas. For
many, this will be their last chance to study different subjects.
Colleges offer much more than career preparation. They offer the opportunity to
have new experiences and to learn many kinds of things. I think all of these are reasons
why people attend college.