People attend college or university for many different reasons. Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Every student attends university in his/her life. Universities and colleges play an important role in any student's life because it helps them to mold their interests and opens the door to future aspects like research or employment. People attend universities for several reasons. In my view, people attend college or university to expand knowledge and to gain foreign exposure.

Firstly, college life helps students to have exposure to many areas of study. Students show interest in learning the basics of these courses. thus improving their knowledge. For instance, during my sophomore year in college, I struggled to pick a major from the enormous available majors like Science, Mathematics, Engineering, Arts and so on. In addition, new majors were added like Artifical intelligence, pharmaceutical engineering, modern literature which would be in demand. Somehow, by eliminating least interest courses, I was able to narrow down to 10 majors. Then, I decided to know the basics of my selected majors. I went to my college library and read the basic textbooks of those majors, interacted with the students who were already studying, surfed and researched on the internet to know the scope, type of jobs and salaries. Finally, after thorough research and immense effort, I was able to pick one major. By the time I decided, I had become a jack of all fruits. My knowledge on those majors expanded greatly because of my college's rule to pick a major.

Secondly, people also attend universities to have international exposure. Universities that welcome foreign nationals have a majority of international students than local students. For instance, I want to do my masters in the United States of America because I completed under graduation in India. I don't have any international exposure. In order to gain that, I want to study abroad. Knowing different people and their cultures can improve my circle of connections. I can also know about the quality of education, research topics, the lifestyle of a foreign country like America. In addition, I can learn more skills than I would learn in my home country because I will be engaged with different mindsets of people which might change my way of thinking in a positive way. Furthermore, having international exposure can help me in securing a good job with high pay. As you see, attending university may help in having an international exposure.

All in all, attending universities and colleges helps students to expand knowledge and fulfill their dreams of having a good job.