People attend college or university for many different reasons. Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world today has witnessed huge demand for the need of education. To satisfy these needs, numerous universities and schools have been built since the last century offering diverse choices for education. Personally, I strongly believe that every student should attend university. Entering a university is a promising step into the world of opportunities accompanied by a strong desire for distinction and excellence. There are various reasons for attending universities but some specific ones are the most prevalent today according to the viewpoint of most of the people.

First, attending a university can earn a student with a degree and/or a diploma. This by default leads to a distinct, respected and a well-paid profession. For example, earning a diploma or a degree in engineering can offer student with a huge range of opportunities in this technologically advanced world. Nowadays the unemployment crisis is common in every country in the world even the most developed countries. So the ease of finding a job plays an important role for a student to decide on whether to attend a university.

Second, people today desire for more education. University offers a higher level of education and has all the facilities and resources for people who crave for knowledge. Learning is the key to improve and develop ourselves. So, higher education helps to widen our understanding, enhance our knowledge and in turn, increase our intellectual abilities.

Apart from these reasons there is also a well know thing all over the world called career preparation. Attending university for higher education can offer students to seek their career in various field like in science, business, law, arts, humanities, etc. It is believed that qualifications, ideas, in-depth knowledge and opportunities offered by the universities make their attending imperative. Many a time, a three or a four year diploma or degree may be the beginning of the moves one may make in order to accomplish best for their career.

Finally, moving to a university also bring in a host of responsibilities on an individual. Most of the times universities which we desire to attend are located at places away from our homes. So, moving away from our parents and living independently brings us with new responsibilities and experiences. Apart from that, students can have a sense of personal freedom which is of great importance. Also, entering a university offers us to meet new people and be friends with people from diverse backgrounds, cultures, ethnicity, and races. Such an opportunity gives immense exposure to socializing with different kinds of people.

In sum, the motto of students is to harvest knowledge and being educated, so it is obvious that everyone can find a reason for attending university.