People do many different things to stay healthy. What do you do for good health? Use specific reasons and examples to support your idea.

Maintaining our health is one of the most effective ways of ensuring that we live a long and happy life. I do many things in order to stay fit, but the most important is maintaining a healthy diet. There are two main reasons why I think this is critically important, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, eating healthy food prevents obesity, which is the cause of many very serious illnesses. Obesity is debilitating all by itself, but it also causes patients to suffer from a variety of other illnesses, including diabetes, arthritis and heat disease. It is important to be aware of this connection when making decisions about the food which we eat. My eldest cousin is a compelling example of this. While my cousin maintained a healthy weight throughout high school and university (despite eating a lot of unhealthy snacks and junk food), when he entered adulthood his metabolism changed and he began to rapidly gain weight. My cousin is not a particularly self-conscious individual and was never bothered by how this weight gain affected his appearance, so he continued to eat an unhealthy diet. However, he was eventually diagnosed with adult-onset diabetes which has had a profound effect on his quality of life. As a result, he regrets not being more careful about his dietary choices.

Secondly, eating healthy food gives me a lot of energy, which keeps me effective in my personal and professional pursuits. It is no secret that people who lack certain vitamins and nutrients do not have the energy necessary to complete even single tasks. I recall how when I was a university student I often skipped meals because I was quite busy studying. As a result of not eating proper meals. I started to suffer from fatigue and lethargy. My grades began to drop because when it came time to write my tests I could barely keep my eyes open long enough to answer the questions. Moreover, my assignments were poorly done because my fatigue made me unable to keep up with deadlines. The following year I was a bit more diligent about making healthy food choices and my grades quickly recovered.

In conclusion, the most important thing I do in order to stay healthy is maintain a nutritious diet. This is because keeping a healthy diet prevents obesity and related diseases, and because it gives me the energy to keep up with my academic and professional requirements.