People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or coworkers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Learning ability varies from person to person. Some people can grasp easily from their teacher or supervisor and some can seek a help from their fellow students or co-workers. I personally believe persons can learn from teachers or supervisors in better way than from fellow students or co-workers. There several reasons to support this opinion.

Firstly, our fellow students or workers have learned their things from our teachers or supervisors only. So, if we are asking help from other co-worker or students, we are indirectly asking help from our teachers or managers only. For example, whenever I faced any work related challenges, the first help I took from my co-worker who just have experience of 5-6 months in that project. However, he also got his doubt cleared by our manager only when he first joined the project and no senior colleague available that time. So, basically the understanding is coming from our teacher or supervisor through our fellow students or co-workers.

Secondly, teachers or supervisors don't get a time to solve each and everyone's small doubts. Because of this, we generally take help from our immediate seniors who studied or mentored under our teachers and supervisors. In this scenario, suppose I asked for help from colleague in the organization about our project. If that colleague doesn't have better understanding, then in that case we definitely contact our higher level manager who have good experience in the project.

Thirdly, the teacher or supervisors are more experience than whole class or the entire project team. Because of this, they have more real-life example to explain certain understanding. When I joined my first organization, I thought I can do any work related to the training which was delivered. However, when I got into first real-time project, my supervisor had helped me and my other colleague with his previous experience from the project. It helped us in a great way to understand the gravity of project overall.

In sum, the teachers and supervisors can help or teach to their students and employees in better way because they have good understanding on the subjects and they can share previous experience and real-time examples to emphasize the importance of subject or project to fresher.