People learn things better from those at their own level such as fellow students or co workers than from those at a higher level such as teachers or supervisors

Some might argue that learning from a fellow student or a co-worker, both are on the same level with the person. However, in my humble opinion, a good supervisor can teach a lot more than your own level. There are several reasons for this, which are about knowledge and guidance.

First of all, apparently, supervisors' background is much more accumulated through their life. They can lecture a topic to their students who had no prior knowledge on it. For instance, I am a master student in a bioinformatics program, which allows me to experience both biological and computational parts. In fact, I studied molecular biology and genetics in my bachelor's degree. Although I do have background knowledge in biology, I find computational analysis more interesting and fun. My master’s degree supervisor is a medicine professor, and he has a little knowledge in computational biology. However, he is very intellectual in the biological part. Even though he lacks knowledge in computers, I can fill the gap because of my motivation. On the other hand, he can teach me the details of the biological aspects of my project. Therefore, I believe this is a win-win situation. Yet, if I had a friend who has a similar level of knowledge, I wouldn’t learn anything new, because I can search and find on the internet what I need to learn. Therefore, supervisors can help their students to learn new unfamiliar concepts and details.

Knowledge is not the only thing a supervisor can teach, they can also guide their students to do their studies. A good supervisor, I believe, should allow their students to experience mistakes, but they should direct them to the correct path. Couple of weeks ago, my professor gave me an example of this situation. He mentioned barriers on the bowling site for children who cannot control their movement, which perfectly illustrates a good guidance. In addition, teaching organization is an important guidance practice. If a student has to finish up a project analysis by the deadline, the supervisor knows that they need to put some pressure on students. Whereas, a co-worker wouldn’t have the power to put pressure on the student. Therefore, supervisors can lead students, because students would listen to them as an authority figure.

Consequently, I believe that students can get more benefit from their supervisor than their co-workers in several ways. Not only the details in topics that they are not familiar with, but also guidance in establishing successful projects.