Plants can provide food, shelter, clothing, or medicine. What is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

All kinds of plants are important in countries. They provide many benefits as a food, shelters, and medicines. And still there are special kinds that are unique in each country. Personally, I think the most important plant tree in my country is date tree for the following reasons.

First, date tree represents a necessary source in my country especially in our economy. Date tree thrives in Iraq because of the suitable weather. It needs a hot climate which finds it in my country, Iraq. There is a great number of such a tree that produces the fruit date. We export date to the surrounding countries. About 30% of the economy is from date exportation. In addition, this tree represents kind of our tradition. We have its picture in one of our bills and also in official passport because of all of its beneficial effects and of its abundance.

Another reason is that date tree has many advantages. This tree is an evergreen tree that does not dirt floor during autumn and does not need a lot of cleaning as other tree does during this season. It provides a nice and pleasant shadow during summer. People enjoy sitting under its branches in orchids and parks when they want to spend an enjoyable day outside. In addition, it produces a delicious fruit, date that both humans and animals like bird can eat. Furthermore, it supplies a solution to the problem of erosion. It has long, strong roots that fix and protect soil in its place. Finally, this tree is easy to be planted and maintained. It does not need a lot of caring like irrigation. It needs only few amount of water because it thrives in hot weather. All these advantages and others we can have from date tree.

Finally, date tree has a beneficial effect in medicine. Date considers as a good source of iron. People eat date to treat the disease, anemia. In the past people used date as a medicine for this disease. Now they use it as supplement with other chemical medications to cure anemia. Additionally, breastfeeding women eat date a lot because it contains some elements that help in increasing the productions of milk. Besides that, date also contains a lot of other minerals and vitamins. Therefore it considers as a great nutritious source.

To sum up, the most important plant in my country is date tree because it plays an important role in our economy, it contains some elements that use in medicine, and it provides beautiful, gorgeous shadow for people.