Populations of the yellow cedar, a species of tree that is common in northwestern North America, have been steadily declining for more than a century now, since about 1880. Scientists have advanced several hypotheses to explain this decline.

One hypothesis is that the yellow cedar decline may be caused by insect parasites, specifically the cedar bark beetle. This beetle is known to attack cedar trees; the beetle larvae eat the wood. There have been recorded instances of sustained beetle attacks overwhelming and killing yellow cedars, so this insect is a good candidate for the cause of the tree’s decline.

A second hypothesis attributes the decline to brown bears. Bears sometimes claw at the cedars in order to eat the tree bark, which has a high sugar content. In fact, the cedar bark can contain as much sugar as the wild berries that are a staple of the bears’ diet. Although the bears’ clawing is unlikely to destroy trees by itself, their aggressive feeding habits may critically weaken enough trees to be responsible for the decline.

The third hypothesis states that gradual changes of climate may be to blame. Over the last hundred years, the patterns of seasonal as well as day-to-day temperatures have changed in northwestern North America. These changes have affected the root systems of the yellow cedar trees: the fine surface roots now start growing in the late winter rather than in the early spring. The change in the timing of root growth may have significant consequences. Growing roots are sensitive and are therefore likely to suffer damage from partial freezing on cold winter nights. This frozen root damage may be capable of undermining the health of the whole tree, eventually killing it.

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about the caused of the decline in yellow cedar populations in northwestern North America. The article strongly postulates that there are many assumptions presented in order to explain this decline. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that the reason behind this decline isn't known yet. However, none of these theses presented is adequate.

First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, there is an insect called cedar bark bettle probably caused the delcine in yellow cedar. Furthermore, these insects attack the yellow cedar trees by eating the wood. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by declaring that yellow cedar tree is much more resistant to insects attack. In other words, yellow cedar trees have powerful chemical in their wood that would kill insects. As a result, the yellow cedar tree can't suffer from insect damage.

The professor in the lecture further points out that brown bears can't be the main reason behind the decline owing to the fact that the population decline happened in overall population. Furthermore, there are yellow cedar tree exist in island where bears don't. However, there was decline in yellow cedar population in the island too. These claims refute the writer implication of how the brown beard contributed to the decline of yellow cedar trees by eating tree bark.

The article lastly asserts that climate changes affected their root system. therefore, the roots were frozen on cold nights because of the changing in the time of growing of fine surface roots. The speaker in lecture counters these points by declaring that there were trees in low and high elevations, meaning that there were warmer climates.