Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answe

How the government spends public funds often spikes debate among people. There is a controversy about what areas such as arts or sports should get more support. Personally, I believe that arts should receive more funding. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, art is the portrayal of a society´s culture and traditions. Through art, people communicate not only communicate their feelings but also the characteristics of the society where they live. As an illustration, in my country the artworks made by artists from different backgrounds represent the vastly differences between people from distinct geographical areas. People from the highlands usually show the local customs and traditions of their hometown through their paintings. These artworks often feature local activities such as pottery and agriculture, which communicates how the locals make a living in that place. On the other hand, artists from major cities select more urbanized landscapes.

Secondly, art is often not supported enough by many governments. Although art is very important to people learn about culture, usually not much financial resources are given to institutions that promote art. For instance, in my country athletics are given support from both private and public funds. Since sports events draw the attention and of many people, athletics teams have no problems in getting sponsors and support from large and well-known companies. However, arts is not promoted enough. Artists who want to show more about the different aspects of our country do not have enough resources to make their creations easily available to the public. If these artists could get more support for the government, people would be more aware of local´s artists artwork and be able to enjoy and learn a variety of topics from them such as local customs and traditions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that arts should receive more support from the government. This is because art helps to promote local culture and local artists usually do not have enough resources to get their artwork known to the public.