Some people suggest that it is wrong to give money to beggars asking for money on the street, while others think that it is the right thing to do. Which point of view do you think is correct, and why?

Although many countries have experienced economic growth in the past decades, poverty is still a prevalent problem. Some people feel that helping and supporting the poor involves giving away few coins to people on the streets. Personally, I believe that it is not right to give money to people begging for it on the streets. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, giving money to beggars only help them momentarily and does not solve their core problems. When you give money to someone you are not truly supporting them as they will likely keep relying on other people to help them instead of finding a solution to their financial problems. For example, in my country many people with few economic resources even rely entirely on their children on begging for money on the streets. The money they get from begging only provides them short-term support. There are many news reports that show how many parents from low economic backgrounds would not even try to find a job since they think that forcing their young children to beg for money is enough to sustain the family. Therefore, giving money does not solve their problem and does not decreases poverty. In order to permanently leave poverty and improve their quality of life, people must learn a way to make a living by doing honest work that ensures constant monthly income for their families.

Furthermore, there is no guarantee that the money they will get will be spend on the right things. While some beggars would use it to buy food, people can also use the money to consume harmful substances like alcohol or cigarettes. For example, when I was a child, there was a homeless person who would often come to our family business to ask for some money. At the beginning, my mother would let them some but after a while we found out that the homeless person was using the money not to buy food, but to consume alcohol and drugs. Giving money does not necessarily help them. If you want to help someone in need, it is better to provide support in other ways such as giving them food or clothes so they are able to satisfy their basic needs first. A better option would be to donate things to charity that help people in need.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that is not morally right to give money to beggars. It does not solve the problem of poverty and they might use it for the wrong purposes.