Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Modern transportation and shipping has made the world a better place to live.

Use specific reasons and details to explain your opinion.

Nowadays it is difficult to imagine our lives without international trade or travel. Nevertheless, decades ago those activities were not as common. Technological advances on transportation has revolutionized the way we live. Personally, I believe that developement on transportation and shipping has improved our lives. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, advances on transportation has made the world more interconnected and convenient . Modern means of transportation such as high speed trains, subways and airplanes have made travel easier and faster. For instance, when I was a child although travelling by air was possible it was still not common and only wealthy people could afford it. If possible, people would use buses instead of planes because it was much cheaper even if that meant driving for long hours on the highway. Nowadays, thanks to the development of technology, the cost of air travelling has been greatly reduced. Now I can travel more frequently because plane tickets are more affordable. Thanks to that, I have visited several destinations both inside and outside my country, which has allowed me to learn more about different country´s history and culture. Travelling allows people to open their minds and get out of their comfort zone. If there were no modern transportation options, we would not be able to get fulfilling experiences such as travelling the world and meeting people from different backgrounds.

Secondly, the improvement of shipping processes have made international trade possible and affordable. International commerce has increased because costs of shipping, handling and transportation have declined as processes are more efficient and fast. For example, during my childhood it was uncommon to receive packages from abroad or buy things from the internet. Now I can frequently purchase items that are not available on my country. I believe there has been some improvement in my life because now I can easily access products that provide better value. Furthermore, we have a larger pool of options. Before e-commerce was common, we did not have much choices available at our local market. Thanks to shipping and transportation we are able to access a wider variety of products and services that can improve our living conditions.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that our daily lives have largely improved due to advances on modern transportation and shipping. The development on these aspects has positively impacted our way of living by making the world more interconnected.