Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Elections are an essential part of any democratic society and vote is a right that all citizens must have. Some people believe that all citizens above fifteen years old should be allowed to vote to ensure that more points of view are heard in a democracy. However, I personally believe that children of such young age should not vote. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, most teenagers are still not matured enough in order to make responsible decisions that can have an important impact on a country. Young teens are still developing their minds and are not fully capable of making wise choices on their own. Teens can be easily influenced by their peers at school. For instance, they might not choose wisely and vote for the candidate that most of their friends agree with or prefer a candidate only for frivoulous purposes like decreasing the legal drinking age or shortening the annual school time. When I was in high school, some of my friends wanted some candidate to be elected for congress only because of its good looks, regardless of whether or not it has useful proposals. Furthermore, they would only base their opinions on information that they found on social media, where sources are not always legitimate. Sometimes young people do not take things seriously enough to make such important political decisions.

Secondly, young people are still greatly influenced by the opinions of their parents. Given that teens have not gained financial independance yet, their parents might force them vote for the candidate they prefer with the argument that parents know what its best for them. For example, a parent might just force their kid to vote for the candidate that the he/she likes, regardless of their kid´s opinion on that matter. If teenagers just follow their parents desires then they will not be encouraged to think on their own and make rational and conscious decisions for themselves.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that teenagers should not be allowed to vote yet mainly because they are not matured enough to make conscious decisions on their own and not to be easily influenced by those around them like their families or friends.