Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Todays modern societies´ needs are constantly evolving. How governments distribute public funds is always root of debate. Some people agree that government should invest on technological aspects such as improving Internet access. Nevertheless, I believe that more support should be directed to the improvement of public means of transport. Transportation has always been an essential aspect of modern societies. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, public transportation benefits many people from different social and economic levels. In many countries public transportation is a basic need since owning private cars can be quite expensive. For instance, in my country most of people rely on public means of transportation such as trains and buses for their daily commuting activities. Without efficient transportation, daily routines would be more difficult and stressful, decreasing overall well-being among citizens. On the other hand, the penetration rate of smartphones and computers is not relatively high. Therefore, not many citizens are in need of Internet access. Public transport, however, is a common need among people, regardless of their socioeconomic level. Furthermore, it also benefits people in the sense that it would increase their productivity levels since they would not get stuck in traffic jams. Moreover, people would be able to get to their workplaces faster and in a more convenient way.

Secondly, efficient means of transportation encourages economic activity. If people do not have ways to move from one place to another easily, activities such as studying and working would be limited and it would create a great disadvantage for those who do not own private vehicles. For instance, if a city has an efficient transportation system, more people would be able to commute to work and study and companies would not have a hard time filling job positions. Remote areas that lack transport systems generally find it more difficult to hire people since not many people would be willing to work somewhere that does not have an easy way to get there. Public transport allows people to take jobs that are even far from their house, hence, increasing economic activity everywhere.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that more support should be given to improving the public transportation at every country. Transportation is a basic need for many people. The social well-being and quality of life of a country would increase with a reliable transport system. In addition, greater economic activity would be encouraged, even in areas outside the main cities.