Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Digital technology has become an integral part of today´s lifestyle. The widespread use of smartphones has changed the way people communicate and access information. The idea of children owning smartphones as a means of communication has appealed to some parents. Personally, I believe that children should not own mobile phones from early age. Phone limit face-to-face interactions and are immensely distracting for young children.

The begin with, phone indulgence deteriorates social and communication skills. Smartphones are a double-edge sword for young children. Although phones are useful tools to keep in contact with people, it can also limit face-to-face social interaction. For instance, children could rely mostly on texting instead of having conversations or spending time with their friends, which would negatively affect their ability to socialize and interact with people. Even when they having dinner with their family, children can focus too much on their phones and lose a good opportunity to strengthen their connections with their families and siblings. Furthermore, excessive use of mobile devices can lead children to become addicted and attached to their devices, boosting feelings of isolation and social anxiety. People learn key communication skills at a young age. If children lack social interactions while in development stage, it will deteriorate its capacity to effectively understand and communicate with people when growing up.

Secondly, the use of smartphones can be distracting while studying. While technology can be a useful teaching tool in the classroom, students can easily lose focus by frequently checking their phones. Easy access to many forms of entertainment can be tempting for many young children. Kids have not yet developed the understanding of what it is good or detrimental to them, which can lead to them getting addicted to their devices. For example, instead of focusing on learning and paying attention to their teachers while in class, young students get constantly distracted with social media and mobile games as they do not understand that these actions to them more harm than good. Not being able to draw limits would cause them to abuse the use of phones. Spending a lot of time playing games would definitely interfere with their learning process.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that children should first develop their interpersonal skills and learning essential knowledge before they get a smartphone. While technology brings many advantages, young children should focus on exploring and understanding the world and environment first, and not just spend time playing games on their phones.