Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

The topic raises a controversial issue of whether children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote. Indisputably, they are mature enough to take their own decisions but not that mature to vote. Thus I generally disagree with the opinion that children over the age of 15 allowed to vote for the following two reasons.

Firstly, children over 15 years of age are not mature enough to take important decisions. They need someone to assist them with their decisions. Sometimes they regret the decision taken by them and tend to change. For instance, a student that has recently passed secondary school takes a decision to pursue in the field of science but later after some months or after passing out from high school tends to change his/her decision. The voting decision cannot be changed once taken.

Secondly, children can be manipulated easily by their peers as they are as innocuous. As voting is right of every citizen and each vote count can decide a win or loss of any candidate. The children can be easy prey for these candidates. These children can vote any candidate if given anything they want or like. For example, a child who wants a bicycle but his/her parents a not purchasing it for him/her. If these elections candidate provides them with this bicycle, then manipulate the child to vote for them.

In conclusion, although children are smart enough to take their own decision but are not mature enough to vote. I believe that the age group above 18 is germane for voting.