Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Taking a lot of time to make an important decision is often viewed as a bad quality for a person to have, but, in fact, it is a good quality for a person to have.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The process of making a decision, especially for vital issues, is complex and needs time to make a reliable conclusion. Some people assume that this is a bad feature for individuals who need time to make a decision. However, others think the quality of decisions that they make is more important. From my point of view, this is a good characteristic of a person who spends time making a decision. I have this opinion for two main reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To embark upon, the process of making a vital decision need some information, and gaining related data from different sources is a time taking process. This information can give the individual a broader horizon to prevent potential mistakes and errors and boost the quality of the task. My own experience is a compelling evidence of this; when I was a master's student, I had to find the best treatments for my thesis. Most of my classmates presented their proposals by spending a short time on them. I did my best to investigate different references and reduce potential errors in my task, and it took a lot of my time. Consequently, when I started the practical part, I did not encounter major problems, and it boosted the quality of my thesis.

The other equally significant reason worth mentioning is that spending a lot of time making an important decision can present a good personality feature of an individual since he spends his time making a good decision that may affect other people. In other words, people who care about their duties and the consequences of their decisions prefer to make the perfect decisions in order to boost the quality of their tasks. For instance, three years ago, I started a job at a company as a research assistant. Because I like my job, I spend a lot of time on my tasks, and most of the time, I make good and reliable decisions that increase the quality of the project. This characteristic of mine was so interesting to my boss, and I was promoted less than a year to the head of the research and development department.

To recapitulate, this is crucial for people who want to make a vital decision to spend enough time on it. During this time, they can collect information that can decrease the possibility of mistakes and enhance the quality of the task. Also, other people can be influenced by this personality feature since it is a sign of being responsible and paying attention to the decision's consequences.