Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is difficult for teachers to be both popular (well-liked)and effective in helping students learn.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There are many ways through which teachers can influence the process of learning in students. Some teachers employ different ways to be popular among students and boost their interest in class material. Still, there are some teachers who just pay attention to class materials and do not pay attention to their relationship with students. From my point of view, the first group is more successful and effective in helping students learn. I have this opinion for two main reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To embark upon, students can be affected by their teachers; this is vital for teachers to treat them like a friend. In other words, it has been proven that students pay more attention during class to those teachers who they like, and this leads them to absorb more class materials. Also, students who like a teacher want to show them as effective people in a class, and it can boost their efficiency. My own experience is a compelling evidence of this; when I was in high school, one of my biology teachers treated us as his friend; consequently, most of the class paid attention during his class, and we did our tasks with effort because we like his personality and his lesson was interesting to us.

The other equally significant reason worth mentioning is that students encounter some issues during class if they feel bored and frustrated. Teachers employ some specific ways to prevent this phenomenon. As a result, the atmosphere of their class will be interesting to students, and this is because they will be popular with students. This is because not only do students feel different during their class, but also teachers can easily convey the concepts, and this positive feeling can remarkably affect students' performance and their process of learning. For instance, when I was a sophomore in university, I participated in a very difficult course. Our professor employed an interesting method of teaching, he used games as an approach, and he was his class popular among students. Every session was interesting to me since I learned a lot of things without any problems, and the professor's method was interesting to me.

To recapitulate, this is crucial that teachers have a good relationship with students and be popular among them. This is because this relationship can influence students' performance and their process of learning. Also, teachers' behavior and the way they teach can have significant effects on the quality of the class and students' learning.