The question of whether professor should choose a research topic or let student to choose it has been debated for many years. I strongly believe that professors should choose an specific topic for student’s research. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will scrutinize in the following essay.

First of all, of course there are some who argue that students should pick up his subject for his research because they will be more interested in their research. I think this is a mis-guiding idea. When professor give some topics to his apprentice, he know exactly why he gave it to specific student. Professors know their students talents, so he knew which topic is more reliable for his apprentice. For instance, when I was wanted to do a research, my teacher first let me to choose one topic, but when I give it to my professor, he convinced me that I couldn’t do that since my major was more related to professor’s topic. Indeed, I feel professors should give us research topic, because they know what is our field of study, and we know if we are able to do it or not.

Secondly, professors know what it is the problem of our society, and which job are available for students base on their research, so I am of the opinion that if professors choose student’s research topic, they can find their vocations more easily. I feel my freind’s experience is a good example for what I mean. My friend was looking for job, since he really need money. He talked with his professor and decided to do his research with topic which was given by his professor. At last he found job because of his research which was about the professor’s topic. I consider all of these to be things that we should deeply concern about it.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that professors should choose topic for their student’s research. This is because of they know which topic is related to our major of study, and also they give us some specific topic which cause to find job for them.