Rather than help children with their schoolwork, parents should encourage their children do their work independently

That the future of our society and country will be in the hand of our today’s children is an axiom. Due to their pivotal role, authorities and parents adopt various methods and approaches to nurture them properly. Different people have distinct views when it comes to whether parents should help their students to do their assignment or they just encourage them to do their homework autonomously. Although it is a little hard to reach a consensus on this issue, I am, to a great extent on the belief that, in spite of all undeniable merits of helping children in all aspects of their life including doing an assignment , parents had better urge their offspring to take their responsibility of their schoolwork. My statement will be substantiated by following paragraphs.

To commence with, the first exquisite point to be mentioned is that students learn how to take the responsibility of their activities and their following consequences. To clarify, although our parents have tried to facilitate students’ life as much as possible, we should not overlook the fact that they cannot accompany their children throughout their life. That being so, they should let their students undergo all difficulties and triumphs of their personal life to gain valuable experience which helps them to be successful people in the future when they enter the society.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that doing homework individually has a profound impact on students’ self-confidence and self-esteem. It is evident that completing schoolwork thoroughly gives students a sense of satisfaction and happiness which increase their self-confidence. Due to the fact that they can understand the fact that they have the ability to do their responsibilities. On the contrary, if we do not let them do their activities individuality, they always are afraid of entering the society and be an independent people who can fulfill their needs. In fact, by doing so, we nurture shy, timorous, introspective people.

It is also worth mentioning that solving sundry exercise and problems increase students’ critical thinking skill and logical thinking. Generally speaking, various subjects which are taught at schools not only teach students a lot of information about mathematics and physics but also they nurture resourceful people who can deal with the most difficult obstacles and find a novel solution. In other words, they learn how to face problems and overcome it, what it the best approach to solving a problem. To illustrate this fact one only needs to refer to the recent study conducted by the University of Tehran, students who do their math assignment individually at home have a better performance at their school and they can get admission into high-ranked universities.

However, it might not always hold true. No one could neglect the fact that parents sometimes have to help their students to finish their work. For instance, when they want to build a miniatures model of an airplane. Under this condition, they have to help their offspring.

All main points considered, it appears to be good to draw a well- founded conclusion that although parents should support their children to do their homework, they should take their responsibility of their activities and do them instead of their children. Indeed, they should supervise and oversee their children. To summarize the reasons, not only can students develop their logical thinking through doing the assignment, but also they can gain valuable experience. Doing activities alone, inter alia, doing homework, increase students’ self-confidence and self-esteem.