read

Undoubtedly, reading plays a significant role in many people's daily lives where they work or play. Some people like to buy books to read, while others like to borrow books from libraries or from other people. Both sides may have their own reasons to support their own views. If I were asked to choose one, I would say that I prefer to borrow borrowing books from libraries or from other people to read. There are several reasons as follows.

To begin with, if people borrow books from libraries, they can read various books which theyI want to read. Since it does not cost any money to borrow books, people can try any books if they want to. On the other hand, since money is needed to buy books from book store, people should consider their budgets when they choose books to read which can be very limited to people who are not working, such as students. When this sort of freedom is followed, they can read many books as possible as they can. For example, when I was a high school student, I received only 50 dollars a month from my parents. Since I should spend my money on public transports, I had only a few amount of money to spend for on my entertainments. Soon later, I entered a high school, I read a novel named "Pride and Prejudice" written by Jane Austen, one of the best female English writers throughout the history. I really liked the book, so I went to the bookstore to buy other novels of her. However, I cannot buy more than one book because my budget was very limited. One day, I found a local library near my house which made it possible to borrow other books of Austen which made me a frantic fan of her and could read every book of her. Moreover, I could try other novels of English writer which was arranged near her books in on the shelves. Consequently, I became a voracious reader throughout my high school years. Without the local library near my house, I would not have been able to read various books.

Moreover, when people borrow books from other people, they are likely to read various genres of books. Since people have their own personal preference on genres, they can recommend each other great books of each genres. For example, during my high school years, I only read novels

because I liked fictional stories that I cannot experience while I get stressed to non-fictions. However, after I was accepted to a university, I met a lot of new friends from other circumstances. One of my friends was addicted to astronomy which made him to read a lot of books related to the field such as books written by Carl Sagan, Edwin Hubble, and Brian Green. In contrast, one of my friends who were majoring philosophy had read a lot of books written by western philosophers such as Plato, Marx and so on. They recommended a lot of books they liked and I could read several books other than novels by borrowing them from my friends. Without my friends, I would not have been able to consider reading such non-fictions which was a strong pressure to me because of their complexity.

In short, I strongly believe that the advantages of borrowing books from libraries or from other people far outweigh the advantages of buying books of based on the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, the importance of reading cannot be overestimated.