"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

In this argument, the director of student housing claims that Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. To support this argument, the author points out current trends of students’ enrollment and average rent for an apartment. However, the argument is flawed in some regards.

Firstly, the author assumes that current trends of increased Buckingham College will maintain in the foreseeable future. However, there are many determinants influencing the number of enrollment students, such as birth rate of the city, movements of the citizens. To strengthen this argument, the author needs to suggest what factors did he use to predict the number of enrollment after 50 years.

Secondly, the writer unfairly relies on the assumption that students will have difficulty in finding affordable apartment due to the increased average rental prices. However, the average rent might not be a proper indicator for the price where most students live. Perhaps the average rent price increased because exceptionally expensive houses for the rich were newly built. Before suggesting evidence indicating the students’ real housing expenses, this argument amounts to little more than conjecture.

Lastly, by stating that attractive new dormitories would appeal to prospective students, the author relies on the unfair assumption that a clean, neat dormitory is a primary factor of a college enrollment decision. Although this might be the case, it is also plausible that other reasons are more important for some students. For instance, the college reputation and prestigious faculty members could be more important reasons. If so, new dormitories would not help to attract new students. Thus, to bolster the his opinion, the author needs to suggest a survey investigating what elements students generally consider when they choose their college and which element is the most critical.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is poorly substantiated and fragile as it stands. To buttress the argument, he needs to suggest all three aforementioned factual evidence.