The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Many would say that a sense of cooperation is the most important quality of a leader in any field. In some fields, it is true that ability to cooperate with others is crucial. However, I firmly believe that to nurture a future industry leader, the importance of a sense of competition sometimes outweigh that of a sense of cooperation.

Admittedly, it is true that collaborative skills are deemed as a crucial value when it comes to certain fields where always include conflicts that cannot be ignored. In politics, a leader has to know how to cooperate with other to solve all conflicts, and those who are not good at it will be end up ignoring the other parties' voices and ruining democratic spirits. In addition, in education field, a teacher or a professor who doesn't know the value of cooperation cannot instruct group projects which always involve disagreement among members. In this regard, there definitely are some fields where cooperation is indispensable.

Nonetheless, it does not necessarily mean that cooperation should be always highlighted over competition. In industry, strong leadership is needed even though there are sacrifice of individual's opinion. Imagine an online marker company that strive to increase their sales in a daily basis and compete with their competitor. They need to quickly decide all strategies related to marketing, pricing, and so on, or they will lose.

In sum, I am against for the statement that the best way for society to prepare the young for leadership is instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. While It will hold true in some field where solving conflict is important, it is not the case when powerful leadership is required.