All college students should take a public speaking course that teaches how to speak well in front of many people before graduation.

One can say that all college students should take a public speaking course before graduation. For some students, it is beneficial to learn how to speak well in front of the public. In my opinion, however, this program would be unnecessary and stressful for some students. I believe there is no reason to implement a mandatory course for all students.

Of course, it is undeniable that some students could benefit from speaking training programs. It will be advantageous for those who want to get a job requiring public speech, such as politicians, educators, or reporters. By taking opportunities to involve the public speech, students can learn how to deliver their opinion effectively and how to control nervous in front of listeners.

However, there are also many jobs that never require public speaking. To be specific, learning from a speaking course will be useless. Imagine students in art majors who do not need to speak in front of many people. They are more likely to interact with the public by exhibiting their artistic pieces. In this case, it will be more beneficial to learn how to arrange art pieces in the exhibition room to boost aesthetic moods than a speaking course. In short, mandatory speaking courses impede students’ efficient learning whose time is limited.

Aside from the reason above, speech programs might be too stressful for some students. There are many people who have a phobia to get attention from people. Compulsory speech experience might cause dangerous situations threatening one’s mental health. According to recent statistics, eleven percent of Americans have a phobia related to public speaking. Most of them suffer from extreme nervous, and it often leads to faint without immediate treatment. In this regard, public speaking courses might lead to serious health accidents in college.

In sum, despite some benefits that public speaking courses have, implementing mandatory speaking courses is deemed as an irrational policy since it could be a burden for some students. Also, speech ability is not necessary for all jobs. Therefore, It will be wise to implement a public speaking course not as a requirement but as a recommendation.