All college students should take a public speaking course that teaches how to speak well in front of many people before graduation.

One can say that all college students should take a public speaking course before graduation. For some students, it is beneficial to learn how to speak well in front of the public. In my opinion, however, this program is neither necessary nor comfortable for some students. I believe there is no need to implement a mandatory course for all students.

Of course, it is undeniable that some students could benefit from speaking training programs. The training is advantageous for those who want to get a job requiring public speech, such as politicians, educators, or reporters. Once students involve a speech class, they will learn both how to deliver their opinion effectively and how to control nervous in front of listeners.

Nevertheless, there are also many jobs that never require public speaking. To be specific, learning from a speaking course will be useless for those who choose jobs having limited interaction with others. Consider students in art majors who do not need to speak in front of many people. We can easily notice that those students are more likely to interact with the public through exhibiting instead of directly communicate. In this case, it is more beneficial to learn how to arrange art pieces in the display room to boost aesthetic moods than a speaking course. Thus, mandatory speaking courses impede students’ efficient learning whose time is limited while taking off the chances to learn more crucial things in each individual’s majors.

Aside from the reason above, speech programs might be too stressful for some students. There are many people who have a phobia to get attention from people. Compulsory speech experience might cause dangerous situations threatening one’s mental health. According to recent statistics, eleven percent of Americans have a phobia related to public speaking. Most of them suffer from extreme nervous when they make a presentation, which often leads to faint unless immediate treatment is applied. In this regard, public speaking courses cause serious health accidents in extreme cases.

In conclusion, despite some merits that public speaking courses have, implementing mandatory speaking courses is deemed as an irrational policy since it could be a burden for some students. Even though students are not scared of being in front of others, there is still a possibility that speech ability is unnecessary for them. Therefore, It will be wise to implement a public speaking course not as a requirement but as a recommendation.