Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic team.

It has long been believed that governments should support athletics to boost the nation's image. In some sense, it is true that Olympic teams have an important influence on people's perspectives toward a country. However, I still believe that governments should increase their spending on arts than athletics for the following two reasons: government duty and benefits.

To begin with, governments should support the arts since they are responsible for investigating arts that can be easily ignored by private sponsors. Admittedly, governments can gain merits from state-sponsored sports teams in multiple ways, such as improved nation's image and increased revenue from an advertisement effect. However, a myriad of company also want to invest their money on the athletic teams. In contrast, artists, especially who are engaging in fine arts, are suffered from financial difficulties. Even worse, some of them give up pursuing their jobs because of the poverty. In this regard, financial supports from a government will be helpful to artists in such a condition, and this is what exactly governments should do.

Moreover, the development of arts helps governments increase their revenue by vitalizing tourism industry. Appreciating art pieces is one of the major events that tourists take into account of when they choose which country to visit. Amazing art galleries, beautiful architects, and any other art pieces in street can allure travelers to the country. For instance, many people go to French to see Mona Lisa since people cannot see the painting at any other place in the world but Paris. In contrast, people readily shift destination when they want to see sports game because sports teams usually travel around the world. In this regard, investing money on the arts is the surest way to provoke a tourism industry.

In conclusion, I think governments should increase their spending on supporting arts than athletics because artists usually go through hard time finding sponsors while athletes do not. Financial supports enable artists to focus on their work and create invaluable masterpieces, which will represent the country's cultural level.