Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “Video games offer benefits to children.” Provide reason and examples to support your stance.

One may say that video games offer benefits to children because games give chances to relieve stress. If children can control well themselves, video games would not be harmful for students. However, In many cases, students who lack ability of self-discipline are susceptible to side effects of video games.

First and foremost, video games deteriorate children’s mind and mental health. Many video games involve violence actions which clearly are not appropriate in real worlds. However, innocent young children who do not have ability to make right decisions are likely to imitate the behaviors in video games. Three years ago, an eleven years old American boy captured by police officers while driving his parent’s car with very fast speed. He said that he got curious about driving a sport car after playing a car racing game. In fact, this is not an uncommon accident. We can easily find similar happenings conducted by children who are captivated by a violent game world.

Moreover, video games do harm to children’s physical health. Childhood is a crucial period for human being to grow up with sufficient nuitrient and regular excercise. However, many video games do not require movements using their whole body, so children whose hobby is playing video games barely move. Once the young addicted to video game, they cannot but playing games spending thier entire free time, losing chances for excercise outside. Recent statistics also support this point stating that children who are addicted to video game move less as much fifty percents than those who are not. In this regard, video games impede children’s health.

In conclusion, I firmly disgree with the following statement that video games offer benefits to children since video games is harmful for both mental and physical health of childrens. It would be wise for parents and instructors to not prevent children from playing video game as much as possible.