Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

The contemporary world is getting increasingly diversified with people having different ideologies. This phenomenon triggered a plethora of conflicts between them and laws were once believed to be the resolution for these clashes. However, some people started to assert that laws are not sufficient enough to solve problems of modern society as they could not change people’s attitude. However, since there are some advantages that legal system has on public, I cannot completely agree with the argument.

Obviously, laws are established to ameliorate various problems in the society. However, they are just structural guidelines, and therefore, cannot guarantee the alteration of people’s minds. In other words, if people consider laws as discrete matters, they could be futile. These problem becomes evident with underdeveloped country or autocratic state. Take Africa as an example. Although International Labor Organization adopted the convention about elimination of child labor, there are more than thousands of children working harshly in Africa. For them, child-labor is directly related to their survival. It’s urgent for them to earn money, and thus, totally ignores and separates themselves from the convention. Moreover, international human right treaties have been adopted to ensure people’s basic right. However, there exists a number of state with abundant coercive and rigid power. These countries frequently repress and trample citizen’s right. Thus, as these examples shows, law itself could not ensure the change of people’s attitude.

That is not to say, however, that laws have no effect on human’s hearts at all. Even if it is not an instant change, legal system involves gradual shift for the majority of cases. This is because the existence of law itself raises public awareness about an issue pertaining to the law. If it had not been for the legislation, citizen could not have perceived those matter as a problem. Considering that awareness is the first step for a change of social perception, laws do have value definitely. Take civil rights act of 1964 as an example. This act prohibited discrimination based on race, religion and sex and emphasized the equality of people. It enabled citizens to be aware of the unrighteousness of the inequality and Americans are now, albeit incompletely, slowly changing. Moreover, Kyoto Protocol, an international treaty to force countries to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, is another appropriate instance. It could be hardly told that the Protocol itself was successful. However, it greatly contributed in increasing people’s concern about environmental issue. They now appreciate the gravity of environmental problem such as global warming and make effort to save the Earth. Therefore, legal system does definitely influence citizen’s attitude. What we have to take into consideration is the fact that the alteration of human’s mind requires long time, and thus, have to observe for long period.

To put in a nutshell, taking everything in consideration, it is partially agreeable with the statement that many disputes are unsolvable by laws as they could not influence people’s mind. Of course, some people ignore the law and behave they want. However, we could not overlook the role of law as it initiates the change.